Posted by: jude49 | March 25, 2015

Meditation and Primroses

Hello Friends!

A month or so ago, I bought five pots, each one filled with a different colored primrose. I put them on my balcony in different pots and in different places. Here’s what I learned:

  • when I watered my plants, they flourished
  • when I let my plants “go” without water for a few days, they usually came back but not to their full glory (e.g. dead leaves and flowers)
  • when I didn’t meet one plant’s needs, it revived a few days, but finally it died
  • certain plants needed more water based on their placement and environment (e.g. more waterings on hot days)

How does the above information relate to mindfulness?

Water is to flowers what meditation is to people. Everyone, and I mean everyone, needs to be engaged in some kind of meditation. Without meditation, you won’t fully flourish. You may not physically die but you will surely “die” emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

Meditation is needed everyday, not just when stress strikes! When I meditate everyday, I am less reactive, and I can more wholesomely cope with everyday stresses and unexpected challenges.

Not meditating, even for a few days, leaves us open to falling back on negative and unproductive ways of coping. Meditating produces positive energy which allows us to engage with life with flexibility, curiosity and open-mindedness.

Meditating consistently creates new neural pathways. Meditation moves us towards positive growth; it helps us decide which beliefs and expectations to keep, modify or discard; it creates a healthier, more positive status quo.

Earth life is challenging. At times, everything goes along smoothly and then, whoops, the unexpected challenge(s) come. At those times, it is best to meditate more for extra support and to provide the peace necessary to make good decisions.

The question is: What kind of primrose do you want to be: vibrant and healthy; just getting by or dying?

As usual, comments are welcome. Comment here or e-mail me at judith@judithbarnard.com.

Blessings,

Judith

 

imgres

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

