Posted by: jude49 | December 5, 2013

December, A Time of Joy

Hello Everyone!

I imagine some of you don’t think of December as a time of joy.  I understand.  There were years that I dreaded the Fall as it meant Christmas was soon to follow.  Christmas was to be endured, not enjoyed.  Let me tell you some of the ways that have helped me make December a month to savour.

  • I start playing Christmas carols December 1st.  The carols speak of hope, peace, and love.
  • I do the things I enjoy which include finding quirky, unique and hand-crafted gifts for my friends and family; singing in the church choir; making Christmas cake (dark, of course!) and making Christmas cookies from my mom’s recipes.
  • I love lights.  In particular, I love to walk through Butchart Gardens (Victoria, B.C.) or Van Dusen Gardents (Vancouver, B.C.) and marvel at the creativity and artistry of those who make those presentations possible. The fresh air is invigorating and hearing the “oohs” and “aahhs” of others around me also appreciating the displays makes me smile.
  • I enjoy the smells of Christmas.  Each year I buy myself a pine wreath that I hang above my buffet.  When I look at it, I remember the freshly cut trees that we had at Christmas growing up.  Every time I make  Christmas cake, I savour the smells of the fruit, spices and grape juice as I stir all of it over low heat.
  • I take pleasure in “dressing” my home for Christmas.  Most of the Christmas ornaments are old, and as I take each one out, I pause and reflect on where I bought it, who gave it to me, when they gave it to me…  My dad made some of my ornaments for me, and when I hang them up, I am flooded with sweet memories.  My dad was particular about how the tree looked, and as I put the ornaments on the tree, I sense he is amused by my carefree (careless, maybe!) placement of the ornaments and lights!

Christmas at our home, at times, was fraught with tension and too many expectations.  Too much to do and not enough time.   I imagine many of you have had similar experiences.  For a long time, I saw December and especially Christmas as a time of anxiety.  Now, I do what I enjoy, try to embrace the “spirit” of Christmas and remember the positive times I had of Christmas growing up. Christmas, now, is more peaceful and serene.

What can you do each day of December to make this month one of joy and peace for yourself and others?  Love to hear your ideas!

Blessings,

Judith

Leave a Reply

Categories

