Posted by: jude49 | September 22, 2012

Making Your Vision a Reality When Imperfection Reigns!

Hello Everyone!

Here is an inspiring story I would like to share with you.   The Tahitian people are known as some of the greatest seafaring people in all the world. According to many, they are amazing.  So what is the secret of the success of the Tahitian sea captains?  The weather may be terrible, the vessels may be leaky, there may be no navigational aids except their inner feelings and the stars in the heavens, but they pray and they go. There is a lesson in that last statement. We need to pray, and then we need to act. Both are important.

I realize that some of you reading this may not use prayer as your form of meditation.  Whatever you do to access your inner wisdom, the message is the same.  We need to ACT on our vision that our inner wisdom reveals. 

I am confident that there are more than a few significant meanings that one could take from this account.  The message that stands out for me is to start fulfilling your vision even when everything is not in place.  I remember when I was doing one of my graduate degrees, and I expressed my worry to a friend that I didn’t have everything I needed to complete my degree.  I was worried about the future expenses.   His wise reply was, “Concentrate on the task-at-hand.  The future will take care of itself, and your needs will be met somehow.”  I admit I was skeptical.   It wasn’t the answer I wanted, but it was the one I needed.  I wanted a complete no-problem plan, but in this earth life, that happens rarely, if ever.  Everything did work out to my benefit. From this experience, I was grateful that I honoured my friend’s wisdom.  I learned to be more patient, hopeful, faithful and to keep moving forward towards my vision though the ambiguity.       

My challenge to you would be to think of a goal you may be “sitting on” and what you can do to move towards making your vision a reality.  I would love to hear your stories.

Best,

Judith

Acknowledgement: Thomas S. Monson 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

