Posted by: jude49 | August 10, 2012

6 Good Reasons to Go Outside

Hello Everyone,

Today, I hear the gentle hum of my fan sending out waves of refreshing cool air.  (Well, at least I’m going to think that’s what it’s doing!)  My window is open, as well, and I am looking out my window at all my lovely pink and purple flowers my sister so carefully planted still surviving under my care.

Last night, after I finished watching an episode of Foyle’s War on PBS, I was feeling a bit out of sorts.  It was just after 9 p.m., and the light of the day had faded, but I decided to go for a short walk anyways.  As soon as I walked out the front door of the condo building, I felt different.  Here are some reasons why…

  • Fresh Air.  The air outside is fresher than the air inside your home.
  • Calm.  Nature is calming.  Listening to the birds and sounds of nature, breathing in the fragrance of the flowers, looking at the trees, feeling the gentle breeze and so on creates physical and emotional well-being.
  • Oxygen.  Do you know that fresh air cleans our lungs and we can breathe better.  It’s true!
  • Clarity of Mind. Issues that I had been thinking about how to resolve became clearer.  I was more focused.  New thoughts popped into my mind.
  • Social Connection.  Even though I was taking a walk after the sun had retired for the day, I still met a few people taking their dogs for walks.  Even saying “Hello” or commenting on their dog made me feel connected and part of a world larger than me and my world.
  • Mood.  After my short walk, I was relaxed and happier.

I don’t know about you, but I’m off to take a walk!  I hope that wherever you are in this universe of ours, you’ll join me in spirit and good health!

Until next time,

Judith

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

