Posted by: jude49 | June 16, 2012

Be Grateful IN and FOR ALL Things

Years ago, while strolling down the halls where I once studied in the Faculty of Education at the University of Victoria, I passed an office with an open door. A gold sign on one of the desks caught my eye. In black block letters was printed, “BE GRATEFUL.” Throughout the intervening years, I have seen that sign with those words in my mind’s eye. I’d like to add to the phrase and make it more specific and, hopefully, more meaningful.

Be grateful IN all things and FOR all things.

For me, it’s easier to be grateful for things. In the last month, some of the things I am grateful for include:

  • the rhythm of the rain that has lulled me to sleep;

  • my sister’s voice;

  • receiving a cd with all my favorite hymns;

  • re-connecting with a friend from high school;

  • comforting and reassuring e-mails from friends (this month has been worrisome for me);

  • the smell of lilacs that a thoughtful client brought me;

  • snuggling up in my warm, cozy white blanket;

  • pictures of awe-inspiring landscapes;

  • playing hide and go seek with a neighbour’s four year in the lobby of our condominium; and the list goes on and on…

What about, though, being grateful IN all things…grateful in prosperity AND in adversity. Adversity tends to come with remarkable regularity. When a loved one is ill or dies, when there are more bills than money, when chronic illness strikes, when hurtful misunderstandings or misinterpretations occur, what then? How can we be grateful in these circumstances? Often in prosperity, it is easy to forget to be thankful. It is usually when adversity strikes or when the everyday stresses become so overwhelming that we frantically seek relief. And many times we can’t see that there is anything to be grateful for…

Wherever you are experiencing prosperity or adversity or a bit of both, I invite you to write down 3 things you are grateful for each evening…the smile on your child’s face, the sunset, the strengths you have (everyone has strengths), the lessons you are learning from adversity (compassion, perseverance, patience, long-suffering, understanding yourself and others more fully and richly)…

I promise that if you persevere with consistently writing a gratitude journal, grateful for what may seem small and insignificant, your perspective will change for the better. Your attitude will be more positive. You’ll find you are more hopeful, more determined… Try it and see.

Blessings,

Judith

Leave a Reply

Categories

