Posted by: jude49 | March 15, 2012

Are Your Goals Realistic?

Greetings!

Soon after I wrote my last post in February, I made a decision to move. Those of you who have been involved with moving know it is no easy task! The move was worthwhile. As I am writing this, I can see the clouds slowly moving across a bluish gray sky. And the biggest bonus of my new home is that I can see the Fraser River from my living room couch. Ah, bliss!

Moving has taken a toll on my blogging, though. I had set some expectations for how many blogs I was going to write each month.  I was trying to move AND keep all my work commitments. I couldn’t do it. What is the meaning I can take from this experience?

First, I’m not super-woman. Driving myself to the brink of collapse isn’t treating myself kindly or compassionately.

Second, the feeling of unrealized expectations was a downer. I felt like I was under an avalanche, and I was furiously trying to dig to the top. But the more I dug, the more frustrated and tired I became.

Third, I discovered I needed to rest.

Fourth, I set priorities. One of my top priorities was setting my home in order. Since my office was in my home, I needed to provide a comfortable space for my clients. Although I haven’t completely finished setting up my place, it is “set up” enough for me to see clients and feel comfortable doing that.

Goals are good, and they are even better when they are realistic! 🙂

Until next time,

Judith

Leave a Reply

Categories

